Everyday Tidbits...

Be Kind. Do Good. Love is a Verb.

Monday, October 15, 2018

The Confectioner's Tale...#BookReview

About the book:
What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words 'Forgive me'. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

Take a moment to savour an evocative, bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades – perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Victoria Hislop.

I will admit that I picked up this book because of its cover. True story. How do you resist a cover like this one? A book, a beautiful, mysterious woman, macarons and the Eiffel Tower. I couldn't resist it. And, I wasn't disappointed.

Set in Paris, in the early 20th century, the story is engaging. The perspectives alternate between Guillaume in Paris and Petra Stevenson in 1980s England. When she discovers that the man writing a book about her beloved grandfather has stumbled upon a potential scandal, graduate student Petra finds herself searching to find answers before he does. In the process, she discovers a picture and sets out to find out who the people in it are.

The story weaves fairly seamlessly between the perspectives. While Gui's life as an apprentice at the patisserie is difficult, it is fascinating. How that world worked. Those who created amazing pastries and decadent desserts were such a culture clash with those who bought them and ate in the restaurant. Gui's forbidden friendship and love with the owner's daughter Jeanne is at the crux of the story.

Petra grew on me. Her dedication to finding out her grandfather's secrets and adventures in doing so compelled me to read further. I loved the descriptive writing and rich narrative. It made me miss Paris and I wanted to bake after reading it.

Thanks to Netgalley for the opportunity to review this book. You can learn more about Laura Madeleine on her website and follow her on Facebook and Twitter.

Read 7/18

* * * *
4/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment