Everyday Tidbits...

Be Kind. Do Good. Love is a Verb.

Saturday, July 16, 2011

Summer Dream...Review

The first book in the Seasons of the Heart series is set in Connecticut in 1888, the year of what historians call “The White Hurricane.” The story reveals the power of God’s love to change lives and heal hearts. Summer Dream tells of a young couple’s love for each other and the obstacles that stand in their path of happiness. Until Nathan Reed resolves his anger with God and his family, he has no hopes of courting Rachel Winston, the minister’s daughter.

As the daughter of a small-town minister in Connecticut, Rachel Winston believes the only way she’ll ever have a husband is to visit her aunt in Boston for the social season until Nathan Reed arrives in town. Although attracted to Rachel, Nathan avoids her because he has no desire to become involved with a Christian after experiences with his own family. When a devastating blizzard paralyzes New England, Nathan is caught in it and lies near death in the Winston home. Through the ministrations and tender care of Rachel and her mother, Nathan learns a lesson in love and forgiveness that leads him back to his home in the South. Before he can declare his love for Rachel, he must make amends with his own family. Will he return to Connecticut before Rachel leaves her home to head west as a missionary in Oklahoma Territory?

Rachel is drawn to Nathan, an unbeliever with a haunted past.  Being a preacher's daughter and strong in her faith, she knows that their future is uncertain until Nathan can come to terms with his past and his anger at God.

The story is fairly predictable and our characters discover that God knows and loves them.  My main complaint was the language.  The dialogue was very stilted and formal and conversations didn't flow naturally.  Still, it's a sweet Christian romance with likeable characters. A nice clean story.

I liked Summer Dream, but I didn't love it. I loved Martha Roger's Winds Across the Prairie series.  I didn't like the first book as much as the rest of that series and I hope that is what is happening here. That the subsequent books will be better than the first. I do look forward to more.

Thanks to First Wildcard and Charisma Media for the opportunity to review this book.  You can learn more abut Martha Rogers here.  You can read the first chapter here.  You can purchase your own copy here.

Read 7/11

* * *
3/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment