Everyday Tidbits...

Be Kind. Do Good. Love is a Verb.

Thursday, November 23, 2017

#CoverCrush ...Stuffed: A Thanksgiving Romance


I will freely admit that I judge books by their covers. The cover is usually what first captures my attention when browsing Goodreads or Netgalley. Actually, in all honesty, it isn't just usually, it's pretty much all the time. The cover determines if I look at the synopsis and reviews.


I have no idea what this book is about. I just liked the cover and it was related to Thanksgiving. And since our Cover Crush posts fall on Thursdays, a Thanksgiving-related cover seemed appropriate.  I love the fall look. The leaves, a rugged table, a place setting for dinner. So quintessentially Thanksgiving-ish. 

What about you? Any book covers capture your attention this week?

Cover Crush is a weekly series that originated with Erin at Flashlight Commentary. If you want to check out some other terrific bloggers and what their Cover Crush posts look like, you can do that here: The Maiden's Court, Flashlight Commentary, A Bookaholic SwedeLayered PagesA Literary Vacation, Of Quills and Vellum.

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

5 Books I Want to Read: Christmas

I keep a wish list on Goodreads called "want to read". Currently, it's up to 2929. Yeah. I also have several stacks of books tucked against walls throughout my house. Each is probably at least 3 feet high of books I haven't read yet. I periodically go through my list and purge it, but it still is not slowing down. Nor are the books that keep appearing on my Kindle. They're all still on my wish list, I just haven't gotten to them yet.

Each month I highlight 5 books I want to read. I don't set out to plan themes, but somehow patterns creep into my viewing.

We're coming into the Christmas season and who doesn't love Christmas-themed books?

----------------------------------------
Christmas Wishes and Mistletoe Kisses by Jenny Hale

An uplifting, beautiful story about never letting go of your dreams, the special magic of a family Christmas… and the rush of falling in love under the mistletoe.

Single mother Abbey Fuller loves her family more than anything, and doesn’t regret for a moment having had to put her dreams of being an interior designer on hold. But with her son, Max, growing up, when a friend recommends her for a small design job she jumps at the chance. How hard can it be?

Nick Sinclair needs his house decorated in time for his family’s festive visit – and money is no object. What he doesn’t need is to be distracted from his multi-million dollar business – even if it is Christmas.

When Abbey pulls up to the huge Sinclair mansion, she has a feeling she might be out of her depth. And when she meets the gorgeous, brooding Nicholas Sinclair, she knows that she’s in real trouble…

With the snow falling all around, can Abbey take the chance to make her dreams of being a designer come true? And can she help Nick to finally enjoy the magic of Christmas?

A Christmas Flower by Bryan Mooney

When a New England Christmas reunites two lifelong friends, romance blooms. From the author of Christmas in Vermont.

Miracles are like snowflakes—no two are alike, but each one is precious and beautiful. This Christmas, Dr. Beth Harding could use a few miracles. The hospital she runs in River Dale, New Hampshire, is being shut down, unless she can convince the Scrooge-like board to save it. At least her closest friend, firefighter Logan Mitchell, is home for the holidays to offer a broad shoulder to lean on.

In California, Logan is a smoke jumper, but jumping into a romance with his best friend scares him more than any forest fire. After losing his parents at sixteen, Logan was taken in by Beth’s family. As kids, they were like brother and sister. Now they’re grown up, and sparks keep flying between them. If only Beth wasn’t already engaged. Maybe with a Christmas miracle or two, Beth can keep those hospital doors open—and two dear friends can finally allow their one true love to blossom.

We'll Always Have Christmas by Jenny Hale

An enchanting story about the magic of Christmas, the importance of family, and the joy of falling in love during the most romantic season of the year…

Christmas has always been a special time for Noelle Parker. Winter evenings spent with family and friends, drinking hot chocolate and eating cookies at her family’s cozy bakery have shaped her love for all things festive. But this year everything is changing…

The beloved bakery is facing closure and Noelle needs a miracle to save Christmas.

Determined to raise funds for the family business, Noelle sets about revamping the bakery while juggling a surprise new job, caring for the elderly and cantankerous William Harrington in his luxurious, sprawling mansion.

As Noelle melts the frostiness of the house with cake baking, snowball fights and glittering decorations, she helps William to reconnect with a romance that has spanned decades and unexpectedly finds herself falling for his grandson - the gorgeous but mysterious Alexander Harrington…

In the countdown to Christmas, can Noelle save the bakery, reunite a family and create some magical memories of her own along the way?

Unwrap the feeling of Christmas in this beautiful novel celebrating friendship, family and love that lasts a lifetime. We’ll Always Have Christmas is the perfect treat for fans of Karen Swan, Susan Mallery and Sue Moorcroft.

The Christmas Blessing by Melody Carlson

When she receives the news in late 1944 that her baby's father was shot down in the South Pacific, Amelia Richards loses hope. Jobless and broke, she has nowhere to turn for help but her infant's paternal grandparents. The only problem is, they don't know that she--or their grandson--exists. When Amelia discovers that the family is wealthy and influential, dare she disclose the truth of her relationship with their son? Or could the celebration of the arrival of another unexpected baby nearly two thousand years ago be the answer to her dilemma?

Beloved author Melody Carlson pens a story of love, hardship, and reconciliation that will leave readers filled with Christmas joy.

Heartaches and Christmas Cakes by Amy Miller

December, 1940: All that Audrey Barton wants is her family together for Christmas. But the war changes everything…

The Barton family bakery in Bournemouth has been at the heart of the town for generations: Audrey and Charlie Barton have never been rich, but their bread and cakes – and their love and advice – have enriched the lives of others in the town for many years.

When war breaks out, it doesn’t take long for trouble to arrive on the bakery doorstep. Audrey’s brother William has joined up to fight, and William’s fiancé Elsie fears she may lose him before their life together has even begun. Audrey’s stepsister Lily comes to stay, but Lily is clearly hiding a dark secret.

And a silent and strange little girl is evacuated to the town – will Audrey get to the heart of what is ailing her?

Audrey battles to keep hope and love alive in tumultuous times. But when disaster strikes at Christmas, will her efforts be in vain?

This is the first book in a heartwarming and romantic new saga series, perfect for fans of The Gingerbread Girl, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean

----------------------------------------

What about you? What books are on your "want to read/wish" list?

5 Books I want to Read is a monthly meme started by Stephanie at Layered Pages. If you want to check out some other terrific bloggers and what their wish lists look like, you can do that here: A Bookaholic Swede, Layered Pages, The Maiden's Court, Flashlight Commentary and A Literary Vacation.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Weekend Reflections 11/18

Looking outside...it was dark and cold when I started writing this. No, seriously. It was 6:45 on Saturday and dark outside. The sky has lightened since and it's currently 27 and clear. Our high is likely to be around 48.

Listening...to The Doctor walking on the treadmill in the office. The Artist was invited to participate in the high school drama competitions today. The Doctor took him to the high school to meet his friends at 6:30. He does a pantomine that is amazing and he's part of an ensemble piece as well as doing a scene design.

Loving...that I have been able to work with The Doctor in his office. I like his patients and spending time with him. I'm finally getting the hang of the billing system and I think we have most of the bugs worked out. Technology is nice when it works. 

Thinking...that I might go back to bed for awhile. 

In my kitchen...Not sure yet about dinner. Probably something with The Artist after the competition today. The Doctor is going to the BSU/Air Force game with a friend and The Boy is working tonight. The Doctor brought me a sausage croissant from Jack in the Box this morning. I love those.

Wearing...fuzzy yellow minion jammies, black turtleneck and black slippers.

Reading...Still working on the same ones: The Gifts of Imperfection by Brené Brown and The Confectioner's Tale by Laura Madeleine. I need to write a review for The Room on Rue Amélie by Kristin Harmel.

Today...I'm not sure. I do have laundry, because that is neverending and some notes and lists to go over with The Doctor regarding billing.

Quoting...



Feeling...tired. Weary. I realize that is my mantra these days, but it's true. I've kept a lot of my emotions inside for too long. Self-reflection can be a bitch. I snap and snark when I should find better ways to let those emotions out. I am so blessed to have a husband who is able to get me to talk and who has amazing insight and patience.

Planning...this next week for Thanksgiving and such. The Artist is off school all week.


Gratitude...for my husband and sons. For essential oils that help me so much with emotions and health. Seriously. doTERRA has these new Yoga Collection oils that are beyond fantastic. I'm not currently doing yoga, but I have been using the oils for grounding and centering. So, so helpful. I have a link in the left sidebar, if you want to check them out. 

I love that holistic health and western medicine can work together. It doesn't need to be one or the other.

From my world... 




If Captain America says it, then it's true. You're all beautiful. Have a fantastic Saturday.

What about you? What are you reflecting on this week? How has your week gone?

Thursday, November 16, 2017

#CoverCrush: The Art of Forgetting


I will freely admit that I judge books by their covers. The cover is usually what first captures my attention when browsing Goodreads or Netgalley. Actually, in all honesty, it isn't just usually, it's pretty much all the time. The cover determines if I look at the synopsis and reviews.


This is a book I read years ago. I'd have to go back to my review to tell you anything about it, but I have always loved the cover. The colors, the lines. The beautiful form, an athletic dancer. Who is she? A dancer--present or past? What is her story?

What about you? Any book covers capture your attention this week?

Cover Crush is a weekly series that originated with Erin at Flashlight Commentary. If you want to check out some other terrific bloggers and what their Cover Crush posts look like, you can do that here: The Maiden's CourtFlashlight CommentaryA Bookaholic SwedeLayered PagesA Literary VacationOf Quills and Vellum.