Everyday Tidbits...

Be Kind. Do Good. Love is a Verb.

Friday, July 7, 2017

Ella's Ice Cream Summer...Review

About the book:
Ella’s life just hit rock-bottom, but can a summer by the sea mend her broken heart? When life gives you lemons…make ice-cream!

Life hasn’t always been easy for single mum Ella, but she has just hit an all-time low; she’s jobless, loveless, very nearly homeless and, to make matters worse, now the owner of a pocket-sized pooch with a better wardrobe than her.

Packing her bags (and a bigger one for the dog), Ella sets off for the seaside town of Appledore in Devon to re-live the magical summers of her youth and claim her portion of the family ice-cream business: a clapped-out ice-cream van and a complicated mess of secrets.

There she meets gorgeous and free-spirited solicitor, Ben, who sees things differently: with a little bit of TLC he has a plan to get the van – and Ella – back up and running in no time.

Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer is a heart-warming and hilarious romance that will scoop you off your feet and prove it’s never too late for a fresh start. The ideal holiday read for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

After losing her job and being forced to sell her home by her ex-husband, Ella leaves everything behind for the seaside town of Appledore. Her beloved aunt has died and left her part of the family ice-cream business. Ella is determined to fix up the ice cream van and deliver cold treats all summer.

Along the way she discovers who she really is as well as uncovers family secrets that shock and amaze her, but ultimately lead her to new beginnings.

Ella's relationship with her mother is at once tender and laugh-out-loud funny. It was incredibly easy to picture their interactions.

And while the story is light, I didn't find it completely predictable. Instead, it was a heart-warming look at family relationships and what truly makes a person happy.

There is mild sexual content.

Sue Watson stories are just fun reads. I've had this one waiting around on my Kindle for far too long and it was a perfect, fun read for summer.

Thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for the chance to review this book. You can learn more about Sue Watson here.

Read 6/17

* * *
3/5 Stars

3 comments: